Six new RIRDC Board Directors announced 16 Oct 2014

The Chair of the Rural Industries R&D Corporation (RIRDC), Professor Daniela Stehlik has welcomed the appointment of six new non-executive Directors to the Board of RIRDC by the Minister for Agriculture, The Hon Barnaby Joyce MP.

Announced by Minister Joyce today, the six new Board Directors (effective immediately) are:

  • Mr Kevin Goss (Western Australia)

  • Dr Tony Hamilton (New South Wales)

  • Dr Janet (Jan) Mahoney (Victoria)

  • Dr William Ryan (Western Australia)

  • Ms Heather Stacy (Victoria)

  • Dr Keith Steele (Queensland)

Dr Len Stephens was re-appointed as a RIRDC non-executive Board Director and Professor Stehlik continues as Chair. Mr Craig Burns, RIRDC’s Managing Director also continues as the sole executive Board Director.

RIRDC Chair, Professor Daniela Stehlik welcomed the six new Directors to RIRDC and thanked the outgoing Directors for their commitment and leadership during their tenures.

“I congratulate the six new Directors on their appointment and welcome them to the Board,” Professor Stehlik said.

“I also take this opportunity to acknowledge the significant contributions of the outgoing Directors: Mr Sam Archer, Mr Alex Campbell, Mr Mike Guerin, Ms Roseanne Healy, Ms Alana Johnson and Dr Merilyn Sleigh.

“This is an exciting time for Australian agriculture and RIRDC has an important role to play in the industry’s future. I’m confident the new Board can guide the Corporation through any future challenges and make the most of opportunities as they arise.

“RIRDC has a strong team of talented and professional staff who already punch well above their weight and I’m sure all the new Directors will significantly value-add to our ongoing commitment to all our national rural industries.”